Membership of ITSA shall be open to independent, non-judicial, permanent bodies, an Accident Investigation Authority (AIA), empowered by law to conduct accident and incident investigations with the sole purpose to promote safety and to publish reports without the approval of any external body or branch of government. The following qualifications shall be the primary considerations for admission:

  • The AIA is organized as a permanent entity, separate from any regulatory body.
  • The legal basis for the functioning of the AIA is to be found in statutory law, i.e. in an act of parliament, a government regulation or similar legislative document.
  • The AIA enjoys a budget of its own, i.e. it does not have to rely on financial contributions on a case by case basis from any other body, including any branch of government.
  • The budgetary means of the AIA shall be sufficient to allow it to have its own office space, at least some permanently employed qualified staff and other necessary resources.
  • The task of the AIA shall be of a clearly non-judicial nature and shall have as its sole purpose to promote safety.
  • Under no circumstances shall the investigations or reports of the AIA focus on issues of guilt, blame or liability.
  • The AIA shall have no role in approving or warranting components of a transportation system as safe for use.
  • The AIA is empowered to decide at its own discretion what occurrences to investigate, unless statutory law specifies such criteria.
  • The AIA shall have the powers necessary to initiate and fully carry out a safety investigation independently and separately from any other form of investigation into the same occurrence.
  • The AIA shall have the right to freely publish investigation reports, including any conclusions and safety recommendations it deems relevant, without the need for consent from any other body, including any branch of government. At present ITSA consists of 15 members:

Australia – Australian Transport Safety Bureau (ATSB)
Canada – Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB)
Finland – Safety Investigation Authority (SIA)
France – Bureau d’Enquêtes et d’Analyses pour la sécurité de l’aviation civile (BEA)
India – Commission of Railway Safety (CRS)
Japan – Japan Transport Safety Board (JTSB)
Republic of Korea – Aviation and Railway Accident Investigation Board (ARAIB)
The Netherlands – Dutch Safety Board (DSB)
New Zealand – Transport Accident Investigation Commisssion (TAIC)
Norway – Accident Investigation Board Norway (AIBN)
Russia – Interstate Aviation Committee (IAC)

Singapore — Air Accident Investigation Bureau of Singapore (AAIB)
Sweden – Swedish Accident Investigation Authority (SAIA)
Chinese Taipei – Aviation Safety Council (ASC)
United Kingdom – Board of Transport Accident Investigators (BTAI)

United States – National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB)